working at PWC - what's it like?

Hi,

I happened to stumble accross this forum while googling for info about working at Pricewaterhousecoopers. It’s really good, I wish I had found it earlier!

Anyway I’ve just received an offer from PWC for a graduate traineeship in Business Recovery Services/ Assurance and need to decide if I want to take it. I studied history and philosophy at uni and to be honest had never thought about going into accountancy/ consultancy until very recently. I’m now really scared that I’ll take the job and it’ll be totally different to what I’ve done before and I’ll hate it.

Does anyone know what its like to work for PWC? I’m expecting hard work and long hours but I want to know if it can also be interesting and if the company treats you reasonably. Also what are the other trainees/managers like? Are they mostly people who have wanted to be accountants since they were 12 or are there plenty of people like me who apply in a flurry of “what on earth am I going to do when I finish uni”?

Hope someone can help, I’m sooooo undecided at the moment!

Well firstly, well done!!

I have just accepted an offer myself and, coming from a legal background, had never considered accountancy prior to making the application! I got the feeling it was a mixed bag of people. Some who did indeed want to be accountants since birth but many like us who have jst fallen into it. The hours can be long and arduous, especially through busy times, but there are apparently lots of social events and everyone I met was really friendly.

I received a call from my buddy the same day as I received my offer. This was a good person to talk to as they were in your position a year ago! If they haven’t assigned you one yet, give them a call and ask if you can speak to someone to answer some questions. They’ll totally understand there are some things you don’t want to ask recruitment!! What office will you be working in? Hope this helps…

Hi

Accountant1981 - congratulations!