What if you can't answer a question?

Hey, I’m just looking through the various application forms and typical interview questions and noticed a lot of questions coming up along the lines of “give an example of when you have led/motivated/worked in a team.”

Well…I haven’t. What exactly am I supposed to do?
It seems stupid to me that I could be rejected simply because I studied a subject at university that involved no group work and because I’ve never had a team-based job. I know that I’m perfectly capable of doing the job and working “in a team” but let’s face it, if I get asked the question in an interview I’m just going to look like a complete idiot when I go “er…” and can’t answer.

Do you think you could work well in a team? How have you determined this? Do you think it’s a weakness? What have you done about it?

If you can’t answer any of these questions satisfactorily, without coming across as a know-it-all graduate, then I suggest you might want to look into getting involved in some team activities. Maybe sport? Societies? Clubs?

There’s no magic answer. What’s more telling is the fact you’ve identified this as a problem area and not addressed it.

Well I do play in a few team sports and things like that, but a lot of the questions are phrased in such a way that sports teams didn’t really seem relevant as far as I could tell. A lot of them seem to be angling towards work experience in teams rather than just teamwork generally.

And yes, I do know it’s a problem area but I figure asking for some advice is my first step towards addressing it!
My problem is that I was never aware just how crucial ‘team experience’ was in graduate employment until about a week ago and since applications have already opened for a number of firms I don’t exactly have a lot of time to rectify the issue.