Urgent : goldman sachs or google? help needed

Google
Goldman Sachs

Sincerely appreciate any advice on my dilemma (at the risk of sounding conceited)

I have the following offers and need to choose between them, please keep in mind that I am a Computer Engineering undergraduate in London, interned at Rabobank (Dutch IB in IT Infrastructure) last year and am open to anything in terms of career path.

(1) Goldman Sachs - Business Analyst Intern in their London client facing team for 10 weeks

(2) Google - Software Engineering Intern in their Zurich IT Field team for minimum of 3 months

In terms of package and benefits they both pay the same, taking into account I must relocate for Google.

Thanks heaps!

Congrats on the offers! They’re both pretty good! Goldman Sachs and Google both have great reputations as places to work so you’ll probably be fine wherever you go but a stint in Goldman Sachs definitely makes your CV stand out regardless of whatever industry you eventually decide to work in… There’s a lot of “prestige” attached to the Goldman Sachs brand…

Depends what you want to do.

I don’t exactly agree with jungle_boogie’s comments – I don’t know how much prestige there’s attached to GS brand on your CV when you are from the front office, but not much if you work in back office like operations or IT.

That’s not to say it’s bad, just a clarification.

Also note that a business analyst generally meets whoever is to use some future system and based on the meetings writes documents like requirements documents, etc., and tracks the process from that side. It’s less technical and focused a lot more on doing these documents (meeting people isn’t actually that much of the time) and other non-technical things around a software project. I am not sure what the ‘client-facing’ bit means, but I would guess it means other internal teams within GS who are ‘clients’ of the back-office development team(s).I am by no means certain about that, though.