UK Career change through graduate recruitment?

Hi,

I am a recently qualified lawyer and am keen to change profession and join a cunsultancy firm. I graduated from University in 1999 and have since worked as a paralegal and then as an articled clerk.

Can anyone tell me whether the consultancy firms would still consider me for their graduate recruitment programmes even though my graduation was some time ago.

Thanks for the advice.

Hey LMG,

Welcome to the site! …I know that there is a lot of potential for cross over between law, IB, Accounting and Consulting. I have read a lot of opinion on hiring “older”/“experienced” applicants for graduate roles within top city firms and overall, I am under the impression that firms absolutely love this.

Think about things from a consulting firm’s perspective. They could hire a 21 year old graduate with no experience working for a commerical firm and no life experience, or they could hire you, a qualified lawyer with years of experience and associated knowledge.

As long as you can demonstrate why you want to change over from law to consulting and that you are dedicated to consulting, you should do very well. ut you MUST be able to demonstrate this, and really prove to a firm that you are dedicated to consulting and have wanted to do this for a long time.

You must also convince interviewers that you are prepared to take the associated pay cut and workload increase of a graduate level job.

The best thing to do is to call HR at the consulting firms you want to work for. I’m sure they’ll all tell you to apply if this is something you really want to do.

Can I ask why you are dissatisfied with law, and why you want to make this change?

Good luck!!

Ed

Thanks for the reply Ed - it was very helpful.