Training contract covering letters are harder than you think- help!

Hello, I was just wondering if anyone could give me any pointers in writing a covering letter for training contract applications to commerical / corporate law firms (London based).

I did write a draft but was told it was too waffly (that’s what you get for having an arts degree) so I am trying to be concise while at the same time getting my personality across; something I’m finding really hard bizarrely. I am only just about to begin a law conversion course in September so I am a bit concerned about not having enough legal knowledge (especially because although I’ve got some experience under my belt I don’t have any vacation schemes! Petrified by this), though I am a keen follower of international politics etc & took part in debating societies. Obviously I’m going to adapt my covering letter to the individual firms I apply to, but I just need a solid template. Does this seem like a good plan:

Salutation
Purpose of letter: what I’m applying for & when, where I am education-wise
Why this firm is marvellous: mention any awards / current interesting cases they’re doing etc, why the training contract they offer is different… what else?
Why I’m brilliant: tailor experience to fit areas of law (e.g. I like charity law, I have a lot of charity experience)… though I’m worried about sounding like an a*se if I try and make myself sound too brilliant.
Thanks, Bye.

Needless to say I’m super worried about getting a training contract because it feels so out of my hands. Plus, to be blunt, I really need help with my fees which is why I’m mainly applying to the larger firms. I know I do have a chance (got a 2:1, have a personality etc), but I feel distinctly average. How can I make myself stand out or do I just leave my CV to do the talking on that front (again, don’t want to risk coming across as pretentious). Anyway I’m rambling, but would be really really grateful for any advice, thanks so much!

Hi,