Training Contract at Magic Circle- 2.2?!

I’m an Oxford student and have managed to land a training contract at a magic circle law firm and my contract says I need a 2.1.

However, I have had a very tough year due to a massive family problem and I’m worried I might get a 2.2.

Will this Magic circle firm still be likely to take me on if I get a 2.2?
Would they be likely to take me on in 2011 instead of 2010 and let me defer my exams until next summer?

Help me, I’m in such a mess!

Hello Inamess,

First of all - deep breath, calm down, relax, think positive. It’s all going to be ok :slight_smile:

Your Training Contract is a exactly this, a contract, and it does require you to fulfil all obligations as stated by your employer. This means that if they’ve asked you to get a 2.1, you need to get a 2.1…

[CENTER]…HOWEVER…[/CENTER]

Law firms and their HR departments aren’t completely inhuman and they DO take into consideration things such as personal factors and problems. They obviously really like you (getting a TC for a Magic Circle firm means you impressed them - statistically you were in the top 2% of all people interviewed) and they won’t want to lose you as long as you can verify that you would have got at least a 2.1 had it not been for your current problems.

THIS IS WHAT YOU NEED TO DO:

…right now, not tomorrow but right now, you need to talk to your personal tutor at Uni and talk to HR at your MC firm.

You’ll need to talk to your Uni tutor to arrange for them to contact your MC firm by writing a letter colaborating your story. You might also need to get a doctor/lawyer/family member to write to your Uni tutor to collaborate your story before your Uni tutor will agree to do this.

You also need to call the HR at your MC firm and discuss where you stand. Talk about your problems and find out what their view of things are, and what they’ve done when this kind of thing has happened in the past (and believe me, this kind of thing does happen, all the time).