Telling a lie on your application

I graduated in 08 and have a gap on my CV from june - september 08.

Silly me thinks I can use a cover story of being abroad for 3 months (which my cousin did, not me). During that time I was unemployed but was very active playing a lot of cricket and football, here in England, I was not abroad. However I became paranoid that this would look bad, hence why I did it.

I’ve now come to realise this wasn’t a very good idea because I can’t prove being abroad and I don’t wish to lie any further.
During a background check this could be found out fairly easily I think, so what would the best course of action be? I plan on telling the HR staff the true story. Ive been truthful about everything else on my application (even failed university exams), retrospectively I don’t know why I made this story up, but I can’t change that now.

I don’t want to get a job and then face disciplinary action or even dismissal early on, it’s too hard a market for me to want to go through that.

Yes, very stupid, naive, I’m aware. But I’d appreciate some advice if possible. I realise there are worse things to fabricate but I don’t want this hanging over my head now.

Thanks for your reply, that’s settled my nerves somewhat.

My current part time job is cash in hand and very casual (ie off the books), but I’ve always stressed that in interviews and application forms so while there may be no actual record of me on a payroll, there’s not much more I can prove about that other than providing a reference from my boss.
I did wonder whether they’d find that acceptable but it’ll have to do, so apart from the ‘travelling’ thing I should be fine.

Have you undergone one of these background checks yourself?

Might sound a little obvious, but when you provide your passport as id or proof to work in the uk it wont have any stamps confirming your travels

littlelegs, how much info can the big actually get hold of?