Small vs Big 4

BDO

Hi all,

I graduated from a Russell group university over the summer, and have been applying to both small and big 4/middle-tier firms for ACA training contracts. My initial plan was to get a job for sept 2010 and work/go traveling in the meantime. However, it’s been hard finding a job at all to raise any money to go away, so at the moment my plans are falling through!

I’ve been offered a job at a small firm in london starting in Dec (which is great as looks like traveling has fallen through and I don’t really want to waste a year! I really liked the company and the people too), and they want to know if I will take the job by the end of the month. However, I am still in the running through the application process with Deloitte (just done AC), E&Y (AC), PWC (1st interview), BDO (1st interview), and GT (telephone interview). Apart from Deloitte I wont hear back about if I have a job or not within the deadline for accepting the smaller firm job.

My question is does qualifying with a smaller firm hold you back in terms of opportunities after you have qualified - is working for the big 4 that much of an advantage? Can you command a higher wage if coming from the big 4? what would you do - take a guaranteed job now, or wait on the chance you may get a job with a bigger firm, but would have to wait around for another 10 months?

Any feedback would be appreciated!

Cheers.

Incidentally, I have now been offered the job at Deloitte (for sept 2010), so have a big decision to make! would be interesting to hear others thoughts!

Hi Breadhead