Scores of applications, 7 final interviews, finally an offer. My experience

Baker Tilly
Kingston Smith
Smith & Williamson

I was going to put AMA in the title but I’m not sure how often I’ll get to reply, but regardless I will try and do my best to answer every legitimate question.

So essentially I completed my masters in Accounting and Finance in 2011 (graduating in early 2012). Since then I worked two unpaid internships (one in finance, the other investment management) in order to try and gain some vital work experience and make myself a lot more employable. As the title says I attended numerous interviews/assessment centres and even made 7 final/partner interviews and yesterday I was finally offered a contract with Kingston Smith (out of all my app’s it’s defiantly the one I most wanted to work for, so as you can imagine I’m pretty happy). Rather than going through specific processes (there’s plenty of that on this forum already) I thought I’d share my experience as a whole. This is a HUGE block of text and I apologise for that, this’ll probably be most useful to new/first-time applicants.

Prelude: (Feel free to skip this if you’re not up for reading a tonne)