Resigning from an internship- Is this guy a moron or did he really have an unfair expeience?

Response

Folks, I have just read the following article on efinancial careers. I am just curious to see other peoples opinions on the events that took place during his/her internship. I still can’t quite understand why he left it to the first day of the internship to find accomodation. Maybe I’m just jelous of the fact that he had an internship in S&T with a BB and I don’t? Anyway here is the article and the link to it is posted below:

I worked as an intern for a top tier IB within Sales & Trading.

The previous team had been poached by another bank so the new team were all from a French bank.

The first problem I had, was that as an intern I was keen to learn, but how the hell was I suppose to do that when they always spoke in French with each other? It did my head in listening to them from 7am till 10pm at night.

On my first day, I set up an appointment with the estate agent to help me find accommodation to rent. But when I asked to leave at around 8pm the Associate said that if I wanted a job I would have to stay till late. Then the VP had a go at me for being to slow in finding my own accommodation. I was new to the whole term sheets structure of products etc. Instead of being told the basics, one of the Associates took me in to a room and had a go at me for not knowing how to write a term sheet. Isn’t the whole point of an internship to come in and learn?

But I eventually lost it when that associate laughed in my face when I asked her for help. I flagged all this up with HR, but they took a blind eye. Eventually, I got fed up and handed in my notice.

COMMENTS Nick, Private Equity / Venture Capital, Fri 27 Aug 10
Was this treatment particular to your desk or did fellow interns across the bank encounter a similar response?

It may have been a test - something that you should have embraced.

Add your comment »

BP, Quantitative Analytics, Fri 27 Aug 10