Regional Offices, number of Applications and 2.2s

Hi everybody,

I graduated this year from Imperial College with a 2.2 in Physics and am currently doing an MSc Computer Science at UCL. I’d really like to apply to a big 4 firm for audit or tax (tax work seems really interesting! Audit I’m told may be easier to get a place on) but obviously the 2.2 is a massive problem as my application will be filtered out.

Since regional offices receive many less applications than the London office I was wondering whether I would stand a chance of getting into one of them. I am literally willing to work at any office - the thought of working somewhere else other than London is quite exciting as I’ve done all my education in London so far!

So my question is: Does anyone know of these offices taking people on without ‘exceptional circumstances’ and whether there are any documents saying the number of applications each office gets, which will hopefully help conclude what office will give me the best chance.

My academic qualifications are good (though it may turn out fairly average for the applicants) as I got 4 A*s and 6 As at GCSE and 3 As at A level and another A for AS, and the universities I’ve studied at are also good (Imperial College and UCL). I also have a lot of leadership and project management experience with university societies.

Any feedback would be appreciated! Thanks.

Hi there. First off, before you set your heart on big4, I would strongly advise you to just ring grad recruitment depts, tell them about your situation and see what they say. You have nothing to lose and will just gain more info.