Random Question - not job related

Ok, this is the only place I could think of that amassed such a large amount of competent accountants. I’m a novice financial student and I don’t understand how you balance a balance sheet when you have a business loan. When you have a loan (20,000 (assume you’ve had it for a year, no repayments)) your assets will be 20,000 higher, and so will your liabilities but how do you factor in interest charged?? Do you acknowledge interest on a balance sheet at all? Or do you represent all the inerest you owe as a loss in your p/l?? Please help

Interest payments wont appear on the balance sheet directly. It will obviously appear in the profit and loss account. The interest figure will also be recognised as reduced figure for cash at bank/retentions etc in the balance sheet depending on where the cash comes from used to pay the charge. As you already mentioned the loan will appear on both sides of the balance sheet.

Interested owed but not yet paid. Debit profit and loss account (Finance costs; interest on loans)with the amount payable. Credit current liabilities, surely? Why would you net it off against cash at bank/retentions?

I was assuming that it had been paid at b/s date. At which point there would have been a drop in either of those to reduce the current liabilities. I jumped a bit to far ahead - apologies.

How do you represent corporation tax you need to pay from the previous year on the balance sheet?

Do you put taxation from the previous year as an expense on the p/l??

Two answers:

1. In the previous year you will have calculated current year CT. Debit p&l charge in respect of current period.
    credit B/S under current liablities. Notes to the accounts will analyse the charge if necessary.
    In the current year do we assume that the tax is still not paid? If so, the current liability remains on the balance sheet. When the tax is paid Debit current liabilities, Credit cash.