PwC Graduate Scheme - Round 2!

PwC

Hey all, I know there are many similar threads on the board so this will be yet another thread for people to share their experiences and help each other out - after all, sharing is caring!

OK, brief background about myself: I graduated with a completely unrelated arts degree in 2011, after which I spent one year trying to pursue journalism. To make a long story short, after a bad year of unpaid internships with companies that promised the world then bled me dry with nothing to show for it, and the imminent prospect of my post-study work visa expiring (I am an international applicant) I have been applying for graduate schemes like hell on wheels. It helps that I have many friends in the corporate sector and slowly I have begun to fall in love with this extremely competitive and seemingly elusive world.

I attended the PwC Grad Scheme for HR a few months ago - I failed the written report and was encouraged to reapply. Last week, I had a telephone interview for Assurance and was informed a few days later that I had passed - and so I will be attending the assessment centre next week. To say I am nervous about the written exercise - and the entire AC in general - is an understatement. My issue last time - according to the feedback I received and personal discernment - was a failure to prioritise and time-manage. They give you a booklet of about 16 - 18 pages and you have to write a two page report in 30 minutes. I got stuck in the first few pages of fluff - which, turns out, had little, if any, relevance to the brief. By the time I had started to answer the questions, I had spent a page going off on a relative tangent and had run out of time. Knowing all this is one thing, of course, but thinking about the AC still makes me feel physically sick.