Post uni and no prospects

IBM
Response

Hi everyone,

I graduated this year with a 2:1 in Business Studies and have became extremely depressed and feel like there is no prospects for myself at all.

I have been applying for jobs since May. Whether this be through graduate schemes, recruitment agencies even temporary work and I can’t seem to get an interview. I have a large amount of work experience as I worked in IBM for my placement year.

I feel like the four years I spent at university were a complete waste of time. I spend my days doing application forms and never seem to get a response. I am by no means the only person in this situation.

I just don’t believe that prospects for graduates can be this awful.

The main reason I am applying for everything and anything is that I am very short on money right now and I can’t wait until next September to start a role.

Everyone says apply for temporary jobs for example a call centre. I have done this but when they get an application form from myself they clearly do not put me through to a further stage as they do not want to invest in someone that is not going to be around for long.

Thanks for the tips I have been signed up with milkround for a year now I reached two final assessment centres last year with no job offer.

I just never envisioned graduating from uni with a wealth of work experience to be on jobseekers allowance.

Also does anyone know how long it will be before intital applications are reviewed by graduate schemes that are opening now?

A further problem is I have 280 UCAS points from one sitting and it seems many finance schemes are upping the requirements to 300 this year.