Oliver Wyman tests

Oliver Wyman

I was invited to do the online Oliver Wyman tests, which I have now completed and they are extremely difficult! However, I was wondering out of curiosity if they invite everyone to take the online tests as the email I received said,
“We would like to invite you to sit the Oliver Wyman online tests…we will review your test scores along with a further screen of your CV and be in touch with you, at the latest, by 19 November 2010…”

Hi Paul

Would you be kind enough to tell us about your background. They rejected my application straight away without the tests although I have been interviewed at most of the big banks.

I have a politics degree from a red brick university with a pre-dominance of 4 ‘A’ grades at A level in Maths, Chemistry, German and Psychology. I graduated over one year ago and have been working for the Civil Service. However, my passion has always been strategy/management consulting.

Thanks.
Even though I have an Msc in Finance from UCL they still rejected me I mean I wasnt given the opportunity to take the tests. I asked them for feedback and they didnt provide any!

Cheers

It definitely sounds like you have the academic credentials. However, there could be a numerous reasons as to why they deemed you unsuitable. Perhaps, your cover letter didn’t emphasise why you want to work for Oliver Wyman or the consulting industry in particular. What are your extra-curricular activities like? Positions of responsibility? Commitment and passion to pursuing a serious career in consulting? The frustrating thing about being rejected at application stage is you are provided with no feedback as to why your application wasn’t progressed. I often find the stock rationale for not providing feedback is there are “too many applications” to do so.