Need advice on RBS grad schemes

Background info:
Ok well I’m a 2nd year student at the University of Nottingham studying Finance, Accounting and Management. I’m hoping to achieve at least a 2:1 or hopefully a 1st in my degree and in my A levels I got AAB.

Getting to the point I have begun looking at various internships varying from Accountancy firms to Investment Banking and Retail banking.

In terms of the Retail banks I’m looking at I have been most attracted to RBS particularly the Group Finance grad scheme and Global Markets. However I have noticed within Global Markets there is a seperate Finance programme which appears to be different to the general Group Finance programme. Could someone please tell me the difference?

Also can someone give me an honest opinion on whether I’d stand a change with my degree to get into RBS or Investment Banks etc.

Also one general question I have… I have noticed the starting salaries at Retail Banks and Investment Banks are almost double that of salaries at the big 4 Accounting firms. I know though that when Accountants gain certain qualifications their salaries increase significantly. However what happens to Investment Banks and Retail Bank graduates after they complete the programme do their salaries also increase? And to what levels do they increase to?

And could someone tell me the grad scheme which they believe offers the best package in terms of salary and devlopment. Basically I would like to be on a grad scheme earning 30k + whilst also training for some type of professional qualification. Also I’d like the skills I’m learning to be transferable in case I ever decided to leave.

Thanks to anyone who replies.

James

James,
Bit confused, are you looking at internships or grad schemes??