Mature student

CIMA

I am currently studying for the CIMA exams (certificate level), however I am currently assessing my options.

As a New Zealander, I am planning to go back home in around four-five years time. I have been told that the CIMA does not hold nearly as much weight as the ACA (Chartered Accountants of NZ), therefore I am wanting to atleast try to go down this route…if I can.

Problem is, I am 28, I have little experience in Accounting, and have an unrelated degree in Marketing from NZ (marks were around B average). After looking at all the training vacancies for ACA online, it seems you need to have very good marks to get in, particularly with a big four firm.

I have been told be ICEAW, that it will be difficult to get an ACA contract. Doing the CFAB qualification (“bridge”) course could be an option, because I can use three CIMA papers as cross-credits. I would only need to do three CFAB papers to complete it.

Before beginning down this challenging route, I would like a bit of advice from any of you!

After completing the CFAB, what are my chances of getting an ACA training vacancy? I am currently working as an accounts assistant for a small industry firm. I have only been doing this for two months.

I was thinking about getting my company to apply as an ACA training provider, is this possible?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Getting an ACA training contract can be hard enough at the best of times - but nowadays it is even harder

I think the CFAB is just the knowledge modules of the ACA professional stage

It is difficuly to gage how your prospects would change if you had CFAB

Are you planning to stop doing CIMA? employers may ask why you did this

Your company could apply to be a training organisation - but their would need to be an ACA qualified person in the company to supervise you and they probably have their reasons for wanting you to study CIMA