KPMG Competencies

The Graduate

I have recently been lucky enough to get an offer to join KPMG in a graduate role in the advisory arm in a regional office, and like many others who have been successful with a Big 4, I feel a certain amount of gratitude to this forum.

The advice here really is invaluable, but there is no reason for me to give another walkthrough of the process from application to offer as this has been done very well by several previous posters. Just use the search function and there is lots of good advice for each stage. Instead I would like to emphasise the importance of understanding what the graduate recruiters are looking for.

I graduated a few of years ago and didn’t initially apply to graduate programs when leaving university, so I thought I might be too old for this type of thing and now look to recruiters like I didn’t have career motivation. I also thought Big 4 and other top recruiters were looking for a certain type of person, and that I might not fall into this category. After having successfully completed the process however, I am of the opinion that any reasonably commercially aware graduate with a 2:1, who is willing to put in the preparation time, can succeed in getting one of these jobs.

Almost all the recruiters are looking for certain competencies, which. Nothing is hidden from view, and everything is incredibly objective,

Did you do the old style assessment centre or the new one? i.e. with mock meetings etc

I got the old style as it was for the 2011 intake, but have heard from a friend in audit at KPMG - who was recently trained as an assessor - that the old style group exercise is being replaced by some scenario role plays/mock meetings.

Afraid I have no experience on these however.

…this forum is obviously not designed with a ‘confirm post’ function… so I saved a little too early and here goes the continuation: