Job/Masters

Hi all

I recently got rejected from a PWC AC, and am now contemplating whether or not to do a masters in either Accounting and Finance or Financial Mathematics, (my undergraduate degree is Accounting and Finance) next year and reapply in a years time, or to keep applying for further jobs, which is time consuming and I am very keen to work for either KPMG or PWC, both of which have rejected me this year.

Has anyone on here done a masters degree, and has it helped with their future.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Also, I noticed that fees to do a masters at leeds where I am currently studying are nearly £8,000, which seems a lot of money, do you get any support in paying this, and is it worth this expense.

Thanks

It’s important to remember that most graduate schemes don’t require an postgraduate qualification, so if you’re getting past the application form stage (the only stage where your education matters), it’s probably not necessary for you to do an M.Sc.

Saying that, I graduated with a 2:1 in Computing Science, and am currently doing a CFA accredited M.Sc. in Financial Economics, and It’s probably the best decision I’ve ever made. The course content is interesting, relevant, and the pace is intense - which makes the course worthwhile, and good value for money. In addition, It’s completely switched my career outlook from IT to finance.

I was getting job offers before, but with the applications I’ve made including my M.Sc. I’ve had more success. So I’d say go for Financial Mathematics - it’ll be highly regarded by prospective employers.