Is my CV good enough for a IB-analyst position?

Hi.

I’m wondering if I have a chance of getting a London analyst position for the fall of 2011. I have a BSc Finance from Stocholm University with good grades (probably somewhere between a 1st and a 2:1 in brittish grades) and I’m starting my MSc Finance at Cass this fall. My only “relevant” working experience consists of some part-time/summer jobs as an accountant. Do I have chance?

Thanks for the awnsers!

Of course you stand a chance. Any idea what you want to do specifically?

With a Cass masters you should pass the intial stage of several of the top banks, and surely quite a few of the smaller ones. However you need other stuff on your CV too, like relevant/interesting extra curricular stuff.

If you want a Front office analyst role, then I would suggest that you try to add a Front office internship role this summer… otherwise, it will be tough… but not impossible!

Well it’s pretty late to apply for a summer internship spot now… And I want to stay in Sweden this last summer before i go to London. Since you are apparantly supposed to apply for the 2011 graduate postions this August/September, I guess my CV will be as stated above.

I just pretty much want to enter the business at a FO position at an investment bank. I would have no problem considering Trading/Sales but from what I have gathered, after the financial crisis and the fact that IBD are ten times larger than Trading/Sales, my best shot is to go for an analyst position. So I will try to get any FO-position at any IB just to “get in the game”.

How should i proceed if I don’t get it? Try to get a back office position for 2011 and then apply for the 2012 intake so I have some more relevant work experience?