Investment Bank - Finance

Could someone tell me what the long term potential is like, working in the Finance division of a large investment bank? Will you be limited to similar roles in other IBs for the rest of your career?

you get to become an Accountant. Get your ACA degree. and usually tend to stick to it. Progression to front office (IBD/Markets) is usually not an option. But you could transfer to an account firm for Audit or maybe Corp. Finance roles there!

How about progressing into Consultancy later on? Possible? Or more likely with an Audit ACA experience with a Big Four?

• what do you really want to do???

Consultancy is always an option. But usually after some banking experience, its hard to justify that you want to get into that!!!

I want to end up in either Consultancy or Corporate Finance. I’m still a fresh graduate with no real experience but I’d like to have these options open if I decide I want to go down that route later.

I am trying to work out if I am better off doing Audit ACA at a Big Four, or the ACCA in the Finance dept of a bulge bracket IB! Ideas?

depends on what kind of experience you want… if you want to experience the internal workings of a bank and learn how a bank really works… and learn about the main factors and models affecting a bank, then definitely go for the Finance dept in banks.

but, if you want to learn about audit and work for various companies, both big and small… and want to travel a lot, then go for Audit at a Big Four.

btw, a lot of banks do ACA in the Finance department. Atleast all the UK ones do. Others tend to prefer the CIMA and some ACCA. But, among the three degrees I would go for ACA.

Also, since you dont want to go into Consultancy or Corp. Finance… then go for it… but just remember, once you start on this career route, you wont be getting a shot at Consultancy or Corp. Finance again!! - this is the general case, but ofcourse, there are exemptions to every rule!