Independent ACA study

Hi guys
Well like most people on this forum, I’m in the process of applying for graduate jobs for 2010, specifically in audit. I graduated from university back in june and I realised that it would be over a year till I up took a position, that is assuming I manage to secure a contact (which I haven’t at present). So immediately after I graduated I signed up to do the ACA independently because I wanted to make good use of the time I had in hand. However I have yet to do any papers because I worked between September and January, but i am now in a position were I can devote most of my time to studies. My question is this: Can I study successfully for an ACA and do the knowlegde based modules without going to college? If I dont manage to secure a contract this year, should I continue studying independently for the ACA or seek out an accountant assistant job? realistically speaking, up to what stage can I self teach (I’ve heard that the knowlege based modules are self taught but after that tuition is required)
Any advice / tips or any moral boosting comments from people who are ,or were, in my position would be great :slight_smile:

A few thoughts.1. Is your degree in accountancy? If it isn’t you may find some of the accounting concepts tricky and in fact that is one module of the knowledge papers that I believe is partially or wholly taught. 2.How far on are you with the job applications? Any chance you could secure a place to start in April. If so then just enjoy yourself til April.
3.Procrastination and lack of motivation are the two main hurdles. Courses are expensive but to book on one with a good ACA tutor (Kaplan or BPP) may just get you going and through the first 6 papers. They probably have distance/internet learning courses which may interest you.