Impossible to apply to Investment Bank with a 2:2

I graduated from UCL with a 2:2 in economics, but have 3 A level As. Is it worth me applying for any positions or will I get a straight rejection?

If you have exceptional circumstances, then by all means apply and put it down on your application form.

what if i dont?

What do you want to apply for? …IB?

The trouble you might find is that some online application systems automatically reject candidates who don’t fulfil the minimum academic requirements. Your three A’s is good, but large graduate employers do put a lot of emphasis on the minimum 2.1 entry requirement (even though university grades are debatably a less important means of rating candidates).

Jungle Boogie is right - you need to try and explain why you didn’t hit a 2.1. Think about pressures that you had, extracurricular activities that you were involved in - show on your application form that there was a good reason why you didn’t get a 2.1.

To bypass automatic rejection, it might be an idea to call HR at the companies you wish to apply for and explain your extenuating circumstances, to see if they might consider your application despite the lower than asked for uni grade.

Good luck…!

If you wanted to work in IB you might be better off submitting your CV to an IB recruitment agency and say you want to work in Sales. The chances you will get to actually do the investment banking graduate scheme are sadly very slim.

Oh i don’t mind working in operations or sales I want to get a foot in the ladder, any good links to agencies?

I’m not sure- redsuperted any ideas?

well i’m guessing they’d say that if your extracurricular activities made up for it, then it should be ok?? call HR maybe? and you can apply for back office positions - operations etc and see where it takes you. good luck!