I'm an American applying to some MC firms and have some questions....

Hello Ladies and Gentlemen,

I am a final year undergraduate student attending the University of Michigan - Ann Arbor here in the US, and I am applying to some of the Magic Circle firms for a training contract in 2013. I have had several jobs in both finance and the legal industry (specifically, intellectual property patenting), and have a pretty decent grade point average. I have strong extracurricular activities, and I am a Honours student majoring in History and Classical Civilization. I am dead-set on a career in corporate law in my future, and I have heard great things about a lot of the firms in the UK.

HOWEVER, I have not had the experience of a vacation scheme, I was not educated under a British system, and I did not attend Oxford, LSE, Cambridge, or any of the other big UK schools. I like to think that UofM in Michigan over across the pond is a pretty good school, but I have no idea how it compares with schools in the UK or if this is not advantageous toward my application.

At any rate, I have a few questions. First, for a lot of the applications, my scores, classes, and examination results are required. If anyone from abroad (meaning outside of the UK) has applied, how do you handle this? There is obviously a massive conversion issue here, so I don’t know whether to convert my material or to just reference a University transcript instead. Secondly, I am not sure what the difference between CV formatting is for applicants between nations, so I’m worried that my CV might look or contain drastically different material on it then what the firms desire. If anyone has a template that has worked, I would be much obliged.

Lastly, if anyone has any other advice on how to stand out as an international student in the ‘application wasteland’ for these firms, I would be very appreciative. Thanks!