How to Get on the PhD Course

Quick question for those of you looking to study a PhD, how did you choose your subject and did you stay at the same place that you did your undergraduate degree. Increasingly I’ve seen that there is a need to do a Masters in the first year and then they decide whether or not to let you continue onto a PhD course. I’m a bit worried about that on the basis that it would potentially mean that you could do a one year of the course and then get turfed out without the chance of a PhD. I suppose if you have already done an undergraduate course at the university then you are a known quantity and more likely to make it the whole way through the course.
How many people who do a PhD are already in discussions with their tutors from undergraduate so are effectively lined up to do the post graduate course? My main problem is that I am really keen to do a PhD but not necessarily in the same place that I studied my undergraduate so does anyone have any tips of how to deal with this?
Thanks!

Although I haven’t gone down the PhD route I did look into it in quite a bit of depth a few years ago so hopefully I can share at least some of my experiences. One of the main ways that I chose the potential PhD course to apply for was based on my own experiences and geographical location (this was largely down to money though as I had to be based in or around my home city to help with costs). I also considered what precise area I was passionate about and then looked to see which institutions would have individuals with the necessary expertise to help. I also went through all of the research areas within my shortlisted group so that I could hone in on one or two key individuals. Issues such as scholarships and bursaries were also relevant to me.
Hope that helps a bit!