Help re offers: Rothschild Paris vs. HSBC London (M&A)

HSBC
Rothschild

Hey people, need help deciding on offers.

I received offers from Rothschild (Paris, Generalist M&A) and HSBC (London, STG ie M&A). Which would you go for?

Food for thought:

• League table/prestige: Rth ranks better than HSBC this year (Rth in top 10, HSBC in top 20). From what I could read around, Rth has better M&A brand name in Europe, although my former staffer from when I was an intern disagrees and says HSBC London is better than Rth Paris
  • International/emerging markets: HSBC is more global, just in terms of sheer size, although league tables again rank Rth higher. But HSBC definitely has this strong emerging markets focus, and I
  • Business range: much wider at HSBC obviously, more resources, ie wider opportunities?
  • Location: London >>> Paris in my opinion. I definitely don’t want to work in France later on, would really enjoy working in say Hong Kong or LatAm or even the US if I can manage

Overall, I’d much rather work in London, but should I just suck it up and start out in Paris and move to London or elsewhere in a few years (even within the firm)? How do you think the two compare in terms of exit opportunities at BB in London?

Thanks!
-k

PS: for those of you who have questions re interview process, don’t hesitate to PM me

Seems to me that you already know the answer to your question - HSBC. Both offers are great, you can keep on comparing the banks as much as you want but at the end of the day you have to consider where you would feel better when outside the office. That would inevitably affect your performance on the job…And as you said, HSBC is more global so if you wanna go to LatAm or Asia it would be much easier:)

Anyways, congrats on the offers!

Oh, and I am guessing the pay is the same…?

Cheers

Rothschild no brainer, brand reputation

if you dont like working in France, why did you apply for their Paris office?