Got offers from PwC and BDO Audit 2015, happy to help

EY
BDO
ACADEMICS

So, as the subject line says, I got two offers for Audit, one Big4, the other Top 10. I’ve also been invited to an assessment centre with EY, but I reckon I’ll give it a miss, as I’m pretty satisfied with my PwC offer.

Firstly, I’d like to dispel some common myths.

1. Myth: Big4 pay more.
    Not in my experience. BDO offered me 22,500 for East of England, while PwC offered 20,000 for Northeast. Once you factor in the difference in cost of living, and the £650 pa benefits PwC offer, the two salaries are practically identical.
  2. Myth: You’re too old.
    Nope. I’m 30, and with no background at all in accounting (academic or otherwise).
  3. Myth: You need to have graduated from a top uni.
    No again. While at PwC’s assessment centre there was definitely an over-representation of top uni students/grads, my degree is from a fairly mediocre overseas university, and I still got an offer. What firms care about academically is that you meet a minimum standard that will make it likely you can at least scrape through the ACA. Otherwise, they’re not really interested in your academics. They’re much more interested in your performance during the recruitment process, esp. with regard to the assessment centre.
    On that same note, BDO’s assessment centre attracted far more applicants from mid-tier universities.

Now, some tips for the process:
Application:
It depends really on the format. PwC’s doesn’t require much other than filling in grades, work experience etc. Other applications, BDO’s included, also feature essay questions. If that is the case, do your best to give well-researched answers that show a genuine understanding of the work and the firm, and make sure you sound enthusiastic about the position. It does make a difference.
Psychometric tests: