Goldman sachs new analyst application help!

Goldman Sachs

Hi all,

Goldman Sachs has opened their new analyst applications for a 2012 start.
I am going into my 3rd year at the University of Leicester, Studying Management and Finance and I am currently on a 1st.
I have some experience, this summer I am working as a Financial Analyst for a large retailer.
In order to have the best chance of getting a job for Goldman, what would you guys suggest is the best division/route to take?
I know I am not of Oxbridge calibre, but I am determined to work for an Investment Bank so any help would be awesome!
Do you think I have a chance?!

Thank you!

Yo need to do a bit more research into what division within the industry most interests you. from past experience i can say that you need to convey a sort of hunger and drive for the division you have applied to in an interview (especially with GS). I wouldn’t say there is any ‘best division’ as once you are stuck in back office for example, it is quite hard to move to front office when u realise the BO bores you.

Sorry for sounding a little pedantic, but if you choose to ignore the above then I hear Technology and Operations divisions have lots more spots than front office roles like in the securities divsion (where EVERYONE wants to be these days). given whats going on in the markets those would be the easier (but lamer and boring) options.

First of all, how did you enjoy working as a Financial Analyst?..If it gave you a buzz and you were darting around with enthusiasm then you might consider Front Office Equities cos that’s pretty much about the Fundamentals!!!. As for getting into GS, well wannabe_Trader is spot on.