Further qualifications - IMC??

Not sure is this is right forum to be posting this sort of question… if looking to move from accountancy to banking (not necessarily high flying front office stuff), would it be useful to get the IMC qualification off my own back? How useful is this qualification?

Thanks

Hiya

I don’t know if you really need to do anything - a lot of firms would be happy with the accountancy background. However, if you wanted to FSA is one to look at - sales, trading, research etc all have to do this before getting going on a desk. I know people working in risk and ops who haven’t done either FSA or IMC though so if may be worth looking into the job you want before starting. I am studying for my IMC at present and there’s quite a lot of content (it’s more for if you’re hoping to go into asset management related work - not sure if this is your plan?!). Good luck and I am sure you’ll be fine. Lots of jobs on efinancial say accountancy apps accepted etc.

That’s great, thanks. Seeing as you’re studying it, is it something you can do self study, or is attending a course helpful? Sometimes they just rattle through the material on courses and I prefer going at my own pace, plus the obvious cost and holiday time saving.

Also, what is the FSA qualification?

The FSA qualification is basically a regulatory qualification which makes sure you understand the legal and ethical principles behind the markets- including things like insider trading and money laundering. It’s a requirement for anybody who is going to be working with serious cash to have. Banks will typically sponsor students through this- it isn’t something you have to do on your own.

Have you got an accountancy qualification? Something like the [[ACA]] will be enough to get you in. Furthermore, you should certainly apply before doing any extra qualification and even before resigning- they might well take you based on your background already (even if it’s in a finance role).