First interview time - is asking about salary a good question, or one to be avoided?

Interview with KPMG on Tuesday, preparing well thanks to this site and all, but currently wondering about a couple of questions to ask at the end; as ever firms say their salaries are £competitive, but is a bit forward to ask how much I would be earning at the first interview stage…?

no, don’t ask that at any stage!!!

‘’‘DO NOT DISCUSS SALARY’’’ at ‘‘any’’ stage of the interview process.

‘’‘JoyRevision’’’ - As you may/may not be aware, I used to be a graduate recruiter and one of the worst possible questions a candidate can ask, is about salary. Asking this indicates that money is a big motivation for you, when at interview you need to show that the specific company you are interviewing at is your key motivator - i.e. you want to work at E&Y because their style of work and company ethos suits you as a person and you are impressed by the way they do business, etc, etc… not because they have a good pay packet! Recruters hate this question, it just ruins the impression they have of you.

Furthermore, it is very easy to find out/figure out the salary you’ll be getting (from company website/this site/friends/careers offices) and so asking at interview shows you have done limited research.

And further - your interviewer would wonder why you had applied for the role, if you unaware of the salary you’d be receiving.

Stay away from salary/holiday/benefits at interview! It is a bad idea! :stuck_out_tongue:

Okay doke, thanks - thought it was a worthwhile question to ask on here! I come from the forum once again better informed! Are there any suggestions for what good questions there are to ask at the end of an interview?

I think a good question is about social activities within the firm e.g. sports, days out, meals, etc. Shows you’re interested in fitting in with your colleagues and not just looking for a 9-5 that pays the bills.

Dave