Fashion Retailing Graduate Schemes

Different from BIG 4 etc.

Anybody been through one of the big high street retailers graduate assessment centres before? - Particularly for the more numerate roles like merchandising.

What interview questions do they ask?

Any tips?

Hello Spartacus,

I used to work as a graduate recruiter for retail/fashion retail firms, so I may be able to offer you some help.

Where are you at right now? Have you made applications? Are you thinking about it? Have you been to interviews? Are you only interested in merchandising?

Merch assessments will always include at least one GCSE/[[SHL]] level maths test. Assessors are looking for different characteristics from candidates planning to work in merch roles than other roles… for example, it’s more improtant to show mathematical/analytical ability for merch roles… and more important to show confidence, evidence of team work, outgoing personality for buying roles.

Graduate assessment centres vary from company to company but most include the maths test, group discussion (assessed), and one-to-one interview. It’s important to be well informed about the sector of the retail indsutry you want to work in (what are your favourtie products, etc), informed about the company (know what’s going on with them right now, are they struggling/doing well? …new product lines), their competitors, and to have thought about what you would do to improve their service (…what would you do to improve the quality of the retailer’s service). You should also conduct store visits, to show you have put in effort before your interview, and be able to answer your interviewer, if they ask you how the firm could improve it’s shops for customers.

Am able to offer specific tips on Topshop, BHS, John Lewis, Waitrose, Aldi, etc, etc. Let me know what you’re after. Let me know.

Thanks Redsuperted,