Failed at interviews, where next?

Hi,

I just heard that my interviews were unsuccessful this year. I am currently on a year out after university and don’t really want to have to wait for another year, it will be 2010 before I could start work now which is too late for me. Are there any other options to get working, perhaps outside of the regular big firms, and still work towards becoming a chartered accountant?

Has anyone else been in this situation before and if so how did you deal with it? I had planned on travelling this year but am now tempted to cancel that to use the money to do a post grad in accountancy next year as my degree is ‘non-relevant’. Would this boost my employability by much or is it the teamwork, organisation qualities that employers look at most?

I am really at a loss here and don’t know what the best course of action is. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

You don’t need a specific degree to do accountancy, just the ability to pass their online tests which you have obviously done to get to the interview stage.
Where have you applied to? There are loads of firms outside of the big 4! type in top 50 accountancy firms on google and that will bring up a list to get you started.
Make sure you really think about what examples to use, you will have examples for most competencies you just have to find them in your activities!
If you really want to work at somewhere that has turned you down after interview I would spend the year working and gaining experience of the competencies that let you down in interviews so you can ace them next time!

I applied to PwC, KPMG, Baker Tilly, Grant Thornton and BDO of whom I only interviewed at GT and PwC.

I am aware that there are other firms but all of the applications I have seen have finished. Do other firms still allow applications after the usual milkround?

Thanks for your reply.