Experienced Hire Deloitte Assessment Centre for ABA Consulting

WikiJob
Accenture
ABA Consulting

Hey All!

First post here as I’ve only recently come across wikijob and find the level of information and experience very comforting.

I am an experienced consultant, having worked as an IT Management Consultant with Accenture for 3 years.

However…I am currently applying to Deloitte’s consulting business - specifically Architecture and Business Analysis.

I’ve been through the first round interview which seemed pretty straight forward, and now I’ve got my assessment centre in two weeks.

Reading the guide on here I understood there was an etray exercise, a case study, and some competency interviews…all pretty straight forward stuff, until HR email me to give their own version of events.

It reads like a day from hell (!) and I’m hoping someone here has already gone through it and can share their experiences with me (tips and advice very welcome!). I’ve got the following schedule:

8.45am - 2.30pm

• 1 hour proposal writing exercise (specifically to evaluate grammar, spelling, logic of argument)
  • 1 hour to prepare for a 10 minute presentation to a partner, followed by a Q&A on my presentation
  • 1 hour competency based interview with partner (why Deloitte, market awareness, Deloitte’s position in the consulting industry)
  • Group case study

Now given that Accenture is considered the biggest consultancy globally, even their assessment centre wasn’t as daunting as this (interestingly they focus more on group exercises than individual case studies and presentations).

Of most concern to me are the proposal writing exercise (its labelled a technology assessment centre and it sounds like I’m going to be given a pen and paper to write my argument…who writes business cases with a pen and paper these days???), and the presentation is also something that leaves me a little nervous.