Do I stand a chance?

Morgan Stanley
HSBC

I’m looking for honest answers please.

Ok well I’m studying Finance, Accounting and Management at the University of Nottingham. Accounting was my favourite subject at A lvl and I managed to get AAB. I applied to Nottingham because it was ranked 5th at the time for the subject Accounting and was the best University I could get into.

Now I’m about to start my second year and will need to secure an internship for the summer somewhere. When I was in college I was adamant on joining one of the big 4 Accountancy firms however I have begun looking at Retail Banks such as RBS and HSBC. I’ve also looked at Investment Bank scheme froms Deutsches Bank and Morgan Stanley.

Getting to my point I realise that Nottingham isn’t probably a target University for Investment Banks however I’m planning to do a lot of volunteer work related to business this year and in my final year in hopes to make me stand out a bit more. I’m also spending my 2nd semester in the Malaysia campus so I’m hoping this may show independance if I can perform well in my modules in a foreign country.

So what I’d like to know is if I work hard and do a lot of extra curriculam activities and achieve a 2:1 or 1st will I have a strong change at getting onto an Investment Bank grad scheme. And if so what grad scheme do you think I’d be best suited to with an Accounting degree? I’ve heard coporate finance has a good starting salary and trains you in a professional qualification.

If you don’t think I would make it in Investment Banking could you give me an opinion on which is better to work at a Retail Bank such as RBS or work for a big 4 accountancy firm as these are my 2nd choice options. Also if you could tell me which areas in Retail Banking earn the most and which I’d have a shot at getting that would be highly appreciated. I think for Accounting Corporate Finance earns the most so if I did go into a big 4 Accs firm I’d probably just do that.