Difficulty with UCAS requirement points!

STEP

Hi all,

I graduated last year with a 1st in Economics and Finance, however as my UCAS points are below par and don’t meet requirements due to mitigating circumstances (which I have proof for), I am having great difficulty in applying to graduate schemes.

I would really appreciate it if someone maybe in recruitment could give me guidance on the next step to take.

For example should I re-do an A-level?

I have a years experience as a pensions analyst, however am looking to go into actuarial or an risk analyst role.

Many thanks.

Phone the companies before applying. If you have good mitigating circumstances and if you went to a good university; you will have a good chance. The companies will also be able to suggest you of any alternatives. Best of luck and keep trying.

Similar position to you.

I have gone on to do a Masters at a top 5 Uni (target) which has helped, otherwise I would be auto rejected (and was), even with the First.

I am assuming you didn’t go to a great uni, mainly due to your A-Levels grades? Further study might be the best option, but to be honest that can be costly, I got lucky with £12,000 worth of scholarships. You need to evaluate what you really want to do, is it worth going back to do an A-Level? I considered it, but really thought further study was a better option.

I thought places required your ucas points to be from first sitting so adding a levels at the end wouldnt really work. they often ask for dates of the exams etc I just think it would look a little wierd doing an extra a level after getting a degree.

I am in a similar position although I meet most requirement my a levels are not great so I think I’m still getting screened out. It sucks becasue the rest of my cv is good but some recruiters just dont seem able to look past your a levels

Cheers for the replies guys.

Well I went to Brunel University which wasn’t too bad of a university.