Conflict with colleague

One of the questions you could be asked along the lines of, “When have you had a problem with a work colleague and how did you resolve it?”

I have an example of this but I want to run it past you guys to see if it actually reflects badly on myself. This is the situation:

I worked as a software engineer as an intern for an industrial placement. One of my roles was to maintain our mapping server making sure the maps were produced daily. There was a frequent problem with the software breaking, and being a trainee and no experience in this advanced piece of software I was unable to repair the actual bug. The only solution I had was to restart the server, which fixed it for 2-4 weeks. A senior colleague, who had training in the relevant software, was aware of this but hadn’t ever sat down with me to find a solution.

One Monday morning I came in to find an email informing me the maps had not been produced. I restart the server and set the UK maps to produce (we also produced maps for US and Canada). I set the case assigned to me as “resolved” with the message “Fixed - simple fix of restarting server”. A few hours later I got a strongly worded email from the guy who is in charge of the mapping project informing me it was not “fixed” and hinting I was incompetent and/or useless as I was only a student. I, rather foolishly, responded telling him the problem was solved to the best of my abilities and the UK maps had been produced, the Canada and US maps would run when the scheduled task would run. It would have been inpracticle for me to sit and wait for the UK maps to run (roughly 45 minutes) and then set the US to run, and then Canada. It was impossible for all three to run at once due to software license constraints. I also said I felt it was unfair he had called me incompetent.