completely new to accounting-need advise

Hi all

I am looking for advise on entry into accounting. I am an electrical engineering graduate interested in accounting and management. I am currently employed in the IT for over the past year and half but I want to start a career in management and accounting. what are your suggestions on how I cuold enter into the field. how easy is it to find a good job in the field and what are the jobs I could look out for? any suggestions on the courses I could take up in this regards?

see:

http://www.wikijob.co.uk/wiki/accountancy-professional-services

http://www.wikijob.co.uk/wiki/list-accounting-firms

http://www.wikijob.co.uk/wiki/aca

You don’t need to come from an accounting background to become an accountant they accept any degree

You could try applying for training positions but you must be able to show why you want to switch to accounting and show commitment to it

another method could be to do some finance based temp work to get some experience in the field and maybe consider doing AAT at the same time

have a look at the careers section on some accounting firm websites

It isn’t easy to find a job in any field atm

thanks for the reply…!.. do you think it is a good idea to start doing CIMA without Finance related jobs?..I mean start with their CBA(Certificate in Business Accounting)… will that make it easier to get jobs in Finance?.. many small accounting firms do not seem to accept graduates of other disciplines…:(… any further suggestions?

actually quite a few smaller firms accept other disciplines you just need to find them have a look in members directory etc.

depends what type of accounting you are interested in:

CIMA is mostly management accounting and doesn’t allow you to be a registered auditor

ACA/ACCA is more biased towards financial accounting and does allow you to be a registered auditor

CIMA is usually done in industry firms finance dept. rather than in accounting practices