Cold calling etiquette

Rothschild
Facebook

Hi,
I’m currently taking a gap year (unexpected personal issues) and well I’m trying to get work experience in an investment banking firm. Having no family contacts and little experience as a pre-uni student, I feel that my only option left is to cold call as many banks as possible. I’ve created quite a long list of smaller boutiques (doubt i’d get any experience in a large BB) and after having a search on LinkedIn and came across a senior member of Rothschild.

Anyway…I was just doing a bit of searching on Facebook and typed in his name and its the same person. I don’t have a direct phone number for him, so would a private message on Facebook just be going a bit too far in terms of cold calling and almost stalkerish?

Otherwise does anyone else have any tips on how to speak directly to someone other than Human resources?

Thanks

anyone

Hey there,

Good initiative. Best approach would be to email the person first and ask if you can have a brief chat over the phone. My advice would be to get in contact with people that lie within the Senior Associate - Director levels of the hierarchy, MDs and Heads of groups may are less likely to give you time, unless the company is very very small, having said that it wouldn’t hurt to try.

Email

• My approach is normally to ask for some time on the phone for a chat to ask some questions with regards to their line of business or the firm they work for.
  • A more direct approach may work as well, asking if they offer ad-hoc/off-cycle internships.
  • Make the email brief.

1st paragraph

• Introduce yourself, very briefly
    2nd paragraph
  • Express your reasoning behind getting in contact
    3rd paragraph
  • Say thanks for reading and close it out

Email should not be anymore than literally 100 words… less is more…

Dont’s