Career Change ACA, IB?

ACADEMICS

Hi all

First time poster. A bit of background about me I am a teacher of 3 years. Been fast tracked through, been a head of year, head of subject and now head of faculty.

Pay is good (I think)- based in Swindon, £39k (not typical for a third year teacher normally 26k ish) , final salary pension, 13 weeks hols. Hours are reasonable 50 hours per week plus. Very intense work though, literally never take a break!

In terms of my academics AAAB a-levels and 2.1 degree in traditional subject from Russell group uni.

The reason I went into teaching was that I saw along with my father this economic crash coming and wanted to protect myself job security wise. Invested my student loan in gold when at Uni and made a killing (lost a lot of the profit shorting the ftse in sept, doh!)

What I didn’t foresee was Brown moving most of the liability from the private to the public sector by way of his bail outs.

Now thinking teaching looks less lucrative. Chances are if I stay and things continue to go well I will make it to Head in 5-10 years.

In terms of the job. It really is never dull and is genuinely interesting. I give my all to the students and my classes get excellent results well above the school average.

Seriously considering conceding defeat in what I thought would be best for my long term security and moving back to the private sector.

My question is this at 26 years old, 3 years in teaching, what chance do I have of getting on grad schemes for the big 4 or for IBs. My favoured choice would be big 4 and training in ACA to keep my options open.

Also, in terms of salary how realistic is it to expect to exceed my teaching salary if I stay in the regions? Will I make a big improvement in the 80-130k I will make as a head in approx 10 years time? How long will it take to get up to the 40k region I am on now (again regionally)? How high is the dropout/failure rate for ACA? Are the hours going to be a lot longer?