Can I get a Job at Investment Bank with 3rd or 2.2?

Is there any chance of getting a graduate job at an investment bank if when I graduated it was with a 2.2 or 3rd? …what would my chances be if I graduate with a 2.2 or 3rd class, but had already had work experience at an Investment bank and really impressed the firm?

If you graduate with a 2.2 or 3rd you had better have a seriously good reason why and excellent Alevel grades and other proof of academic capability or you will not be able to get a job in investment banking.

If you do manage/did manage to get experience at an investment bank during uni I imagine you would have good academics up to the point you applied to get the [[internships|internship]] in the first place - but if you really impressed a firm during your [[internships|internship]] then there is a chance of getting a job offer even if you didn’t get a 2.1 or first - but it is rather unlikely, and you would need to have seriously impressed the firm!

It will be tricky- you will have to push hard - you might need to try and get some more work experience. What work experience have you got at the minute? Furthermore, you can try through a recruitment agency, who may be able to place you. What’s your degree, and from where?

Sadly the chance of you getting onto a graduate scheme is very slim indeed.

I am in the same boat as you, my 2nd year i did so bad i could not recover in my final year, is it worth applying for an internship as i graduated and say im applying for a masters, or go for a grad scheme?

I’d say your chances are slim regarding getting on either a grad scheme or an [[internships|internship]]. I’d investigate smaller banks and how to go about applying to them - back office roles and even think about accountancy.

Well, it depends what you mean by getting a job. I guess BO would not be impossible, but I have a hard time seeing that you would get a FO job judging by how many capable grads are out there…