BNP Paribas Corporate Finance Analyst

BNP Paribas

Hi, I am filling in the application to the BNP for the above position, but the problem is that they ask in the application form if I’ve got relevant work experience to the job (which I haven’t), so for this section should I fill in other previous work experience or should I just leave it blank?

And would it be a waste of time and get rejected if I have no previous experience relating to this job?

It’s certainly not a waste of time to apply without relevant experience - but of course, it would be better for your application if you did have some!

You could answer this question in a number of ways. You could leave it blank, but I always think this looks poor on application forms. If it was me, I’d put down my general work experience, but focus on describing how these experiences relate to investment banking, or how the skills and competencies I picked up from these jobs would stand me in a good position for an IB job.

Even if you’ve just worked at Pizze Hut, you’ve still worked in a team (see - [[teamwork]]), or even lead a team (see - [[leadership]]) and are likely to have solved problems (see [ [[problem solving]]).

Good luck - please let us know how your application and assessment process goes!

Thanks for the advice, I have submitted and got an e-mail wanting me to complete a online test. I am really worried about it, and don’t know what kind of percentage are they looking for since I only started practicing on SHL these two days.

well, that’s exactly the type of numerical test you will get. If you have done online tests at BarCap, UBS, RBS etc you should be fine. Anyway, let me know how it goes, because i haven’t heard from them since ages after completing the test. Maybe they’ve frozen recruitment already, who knows.

It’s my first online test for applications, that’s why i worry i might mess up. what firms you’ve applied?

Is there any openining for finance analyst (entry level), guide me