Being a teacher

I have just finished my NQT year and thought a post on here may be useful to those who are thinking of teaching. It’s a very rewarding career and I really can’t imagine what else I would do if I wasn’t a teacher. Yes sometimes it can be frustrating but you also get good times too, which on the whole outweigh the bad! Today was my first results day and although I didn’t teach year 11 this year, I did have two tutees who managed to get the grades they wanted. An amazing feeling - that I helped them to achieve it!

On the subject of how to actually get into teaching - I am a Secondary Maths teacher and so due to the shortage of these and a few other subjects, it wasn’t as competitive as to get on the Primary course. However saying that I do think that if you are sure you want this career, getting on the ladder early is really the key. I applied within days of the application form being available and was selected for interview within a few weeks. As I recall I applied in October and went to interview in December. A lot of people hold off applying, for whatever reason - maybe they’d not even thought of the career choice - but as places tend to be filled as they get the suitable candidates, the earlier you apply the better.

The actual interview was more like an assessment day - this varies depending on where you apply. I went to Manchester and we were asked to do a group discussion, a presentation, a maths paper and an individual interview. Everyone who applies for any secondary subject must also take a maths and english paper, which took the first part of the day.