Barcap 2013 Quantitative Associate Summer Internship

STEP
Response

Hello to all,

I am new of this forum. My name is Marco and I am a DPhil student from Oxford (Quantitative Analysis and Verification group). I applied in Barcap for the 2013 Quantitative Associate Summer Internship. I did the first numerical test and then I got invited to the inductive test. After the inductive test, I did not receive any response but my application status says that my application is “under consideration” by the recruiting team. I honestly found the two tests fairly easy so I do not think honestly that I could have failed one. However, since I did not get any feedback or response I was a bit worried.

Anybody else who did the same last year? How long does it take before they ask for a phone interview (which seems to be the second step of the recruiting process)?

how is the assesment day?

i would appreciate any feedback

MARCO

Anybody who can help??

Hi

Interesting you had an inductive test after the numerical, I thought Barclays only rolled out the verbal after the numerical if you passed. I am in the same position as you having completed 2 tests for an IB summer internship (numerical and verbal) and now my application is under consideration by the recruitment team.

I applied a while ago in 2010 for an industrial placement in Finance and I ended up withdrawing my application since I did not hear a reply for about 2 months, so it might well be a prolonged wait, unless they deal with FO applications before BO or they are particularly impressed with ones application so as to invite them to the next stage earlier.

Either way, I wouldn’t be too worried at this stage regarding the lack of reply from Barcap. I don’t have experience of the next stages in Barcap’s recruitment process, yet (!), so I am unable to help you regarding your other queries.

Hi jw399,