Banking Graduate Applications, 2.2s, Online Forums and General Rant about Recruitment Processes

Banking Graduate Applications, 2.2s, Online Forums and General Rant about Recruitment Processes

I have been using these forums for a couple of years now and have posted under a few different names. Over this time I have had a number of experiences and have fallen foul of some pitfalls and I think it would be useful for me to share my experiences.

I no longer need to use these forums and wanted to make a final contribution relaying what I have learnt and offer advice from my own experiences. This post will be pretty long and I have broken it down into different sections so feel free to read whatever is most relevant to you.

My background

In the final year of my undergraduate degree I had an offer for a front office graduate programme. However, I had suffered from extenuating circumstances in my final year and fell short of the offer. The company subsequently withdrew the offer despite my university writing to them confirming my predicted grades and the extenuating circumstances.

I have since worked at a top tier bank and completed a Masters degree. I currently have an offer from a Bulge Bracket bank for their grad programme.

A comment on online forums

Forums are a great resource when preparing for interviews and when filling out application forms. The vast majority of the people on them are genuinely helpful and can offer valuable advice.

However, there can be a lot of incorrect information on here so do not take everything you read on them as gospel. There have been occasion when I have read things on these forums that I know to be blatantly false and misleading – so while these forums are great be careful not believe everything you read.