Are Investment banks recruitment policies racist?

Hi guys

Hope you are doing good. What is your take on the aforementioned question. I believe a lot of the big banks even the ones based in HK not necessarily the UK/USA have very restrictive recruitment policies. Even to be invited for a test they don’t consider you in the same bracket as someone who is a ‘white’. I did an experiment where my british friends, I mean white ones, having much worse grades than me applied for HSBC’s IM programme and all of them received an invitation to take the test but my application was denied and the reason they gave me was: Your achievements are good but your profile doesn’t match our requirements.

Is this a case of racism? What do you people think ?
I live in the UK and have a working visa here but am a Pakistani National. I have a Masters from Imperial and was on the deans list. What more do HSBC or the other big banks want is beyond my comprehension. Will I have grounds to sue HSBC if I ask them to open my application and compare my achievements/ results to my friends? What is your opinion?

I am just so freaking tired of these so called racist policies.

If you’ve made a fair amount of applications then you know that IBs are quite competitive and it’s definitely not all about grades. Work on your CV and make other applications. I am not “white” but I’ve got a role in an IB for this september. The fact that you did not get in does not automatically make them racist.
P.S, if you have such a victim’s mentality, IB might really not be the place for you 'cos their employees are not paid equal amounts there.

Well guys

You have got interesting stories but the catch was my friends, who didnt want to join HSBC in the first place, copied the answers to my questions and submitted those applications just as they were. 2 of them. Exact ditto answers and t we have saved those applications as well.