Accountancy Qualifications

Hi everybody,
I am new to this website and am looking for work in the Accountancy field. I have a couple of questions though. Hopefully you can help. I have a degree in Accounting from the US. I am not sure what type of qualifications that gives me in the UK. I am looking for using recruiting websites but they say my CV is not a good fit. I am currently living in Berlin, Germany because it’s cheaper and I am learning german. I am also fluent in spanish.
If anyone can give me some suggestions to better my jobsearch it would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Ramiro

Hi Ramiro,

If you only have a degree in accounting (as opposed to an accounting qualification like ACA, ACCA, CIMA, or AAT (see here http://www.witanjardine.co.uk/accountancy-jobs/qualifications.asp)), you will need to do an accounting qualification.

In order to do this, you normally have to get a job where you are doing some kind of accounting role, and where the company will pay for you to do training for one of these qualifications while you work. There are a lot of jobs like this, usually ‘graduate schemes’, especially in banks and accounting companies like PwC.

If you do already have a qualification like those listed above, you shouldn’t have too many problems getting a job- accounting qualifications are very desirable in the UK.

Hope this helps,
Chris.

I used to work for a recruitment company and to be brutally honest with you, recruitment companies often dismiss foreign candidates because they are seen as too much effort.

Recruitment companies MASSIVELY favour UK candidates, although, importantly, this isn’t a race issue. It’s to do with the perceived extra time foreign applicants will take to prepare for UK jobs.