ACA or CIMA? Which should I take?

ICAEW
CIMA
BDO

Hi folks, I’m new to this site. I’ve just joined as I’ve been shown these forums by a friend.

Anyways, I’m a final year student studying for a degree in Accounting and Financial Management and am on course for a 2:1. I did my placement year working in the finance department at an automotive company that would offer me CIMA training if I choose to stay there upon graduation. However, I have been strongly attempting to get a place with a firm of chartered accountants that would provide me with ACA training instead. I have interviewed with all of the big 4 and been rejected and also been rejected by a few mid-tier practices such as BDO, Baker and Tenon. The main reason I have been attempting to go in this direction is because I have viewed CIMA as an inferior qualification, and believe my salary prospects would be greater if I obtained ACA. I am not sure where this perception that I have stems from, but for some reason I have it in my head that ACA is more lucrative.

Anyways, I was looking at this salary checker on accountancyage.com and that seems to contradict my opinions of the qualifications. http://www.accountancyage.com/salary-checker/