>60 Rejections so far

Hi guys,

I have gotten more than 60 rejections and 2 waitlisted from consultancies, banks and pharma companies so far. The thing is that I am not even given a chance for a phone or 1st interview at most of these companies.

I have a 1st class science degree from Oxford, and I am currently doing my masters (also science related).
I have 3 internships - 1 in global markets in a 2nd tier MM, another for a local bank (non-UK), and one lab related
I have managed to pass most numerical/verbal/abstract reasoning tests

This is just so frustrating… Is anyone experiencing this? :frowning:

Could it be because I am a non-UK or EU citizen and companies are not willing to sponsor because there are rumours that the PSW will be cancelled?

Its probably that your a virgin and you spend your time on applications!

The real reason is that you’ve done too many internships, i did one and got the job. If you have more then 1 its looks like your a serial loser.

There is nothing wrong or being a loser for doing 3 internships. You could show companies that you have a diverse and well-rounded background with lots of experience.

The competition is definitely harder for international students, and the only thing you could do is to keep trying. Perhaps looking into other options as well: working in other countries, applying to 2nd tier or smaller companies.

Also, what is your main career goal? Consulting, bank or pharma? Focus on the one you really want and maybe tailor your application to the specific career/ position. You may not want to include your lab internship in an application for bank, unless you’ve got relevant skills.

Networking! Contact people, ask around, especially when you come from Oxford, there are a lot of alumni you can contact.

Good luck :slight_smile: